Compare · MainWP

ReDock Web compared with MainWP

MainWP is the self-hosted answer to this problem: the dashboard is a WordPress plugin you install on your own WordPress site, so the data sits on your infrastructure and the price does not move with the number of sites. It also has an MCP server, which makes it the only rival on this list where the AI rows are a genuine comparison rather than a blank. The differences are about shape rather than ambition. MainWP is a plugin plus forty-odd extensions, several of them wrappers around other vendors' products, and what any given install can do depends on which extensions are in it. ReDock Web is one hosted product where the same set of things is true on every plan. If you want to own the box and buy capability piece by piece, they are built for that and we are not.

Checked on 11 September 2026 at:
Our column describes what a person can do at app.redock.xyz today. Their column comes only from the addresses above, read on 11 September 2026. A row we could not verify on their own site says so rather than guessing, and a page they have published since will be newer than this one.
  ReDock Web MainWP
Connecting sites The ReDock Connect plugin on each site. One at a time, or paste a list of up to 100 addresses and hand out an eight-character code per site. The site keeps its own key and revokes it from its own wp-admin. The MainWP Child plugin on every client site, connected back to a dashboard you host yourself. They also offer "Quick connection through the MainWP REST API."
Bulk plugin updates One job across up to 100 sites, watchable and cancellable, with each site reporting its own sentence on its own row and a retry that runs only the sites that failed. "Bulk or individual updates" for WordPress core, plugins, themes and translations, plus "Set auto-update or ignore plugins & themes."
A snapshot before an update Taken on the site, as a step of every plugin update. No snapshot, no update: a site that cannot make one is skipped rather than updated. Not stated as part of updating. Backups come from separate extensions that wrap other vendors' backup plugins.
Safe updates with an automatic restore Safe update fetches five pages from outside before the update and again after, with no key and no sign-in, and puts the site back to its snapshot when a page that was answering returns a server error or nothing a theme had drawn. Not stated on their site
Visual comparison on updates No. Nothing here compares screenshots. The check compares whether the pages answered, and the job page says exactly that. Not stated on their site
Plugin rollback to a version One press on the plugin's row puts back the version the snapshot holds. The restore is queued through the same queue and recorded under your name. Not stated on the free feature list. A Staging extension exists in the Pro tier for testing updates before they go live.
WordPress core updates Yes, and only on a site that finished a full archive of its own in the last day; the rest are refused rather than updated. Core is not put back automatically: the job says what changed, names the archive to restore from, and emails the owners. Yes, in bulk, alongside plugins, themes and translations.
Uptime monitoring, and how often One ordinary page request to the site's own public address, carrying no key, every minute, every five minutes or every fifteen, chosen once for the workspace. A site is down after two visits in a row with no answer. Ninety days of hourly history. "Track uptime and downtime across all connected sites," with "Set custom monitoring intervals" and a choice of "HTTP, Ping, and Keyword-based monitors." The interval values themselves are not stated on the pages read. An Advanced Uptime Monitor extension integrates outside services.
A health state, and how it is expressed A list of reasons in sentences, never a score: the site did not answer, the key was refused, PHP at end of life, WordPress behind, the schedule stalled with the overdue tasks listed, a certificate expiring or issued for the wrong name, mail that stopped sending, a client key nobody accepted. Not stated on their site
Client reports A month per client group or per workspace, built from records made as the work happened, as a print view, CSV or JSON, with an email on the first of the month when you switch it on. A Pro Reports extension, in the Pro tier.
White-label reports Your name, logo and two colours on the client's own copy, sent under a name you choose. A colour pair below the WCAG 2.1 AA contrast ratio is refused with the measured figure. A White Label extension, in the Pro tier.
Two-factor and hardening Six protections and two-factor enforcement per site on one card, with the enrolment count shown before you enforce, and an alert naming the day a protection was switched off outside ReDock. Security scanning is on the free list, and Solid Security, Wordfence and iThemes Security are available as integrations. Per-site hardening switches and two-factor enforcement are not described on the pages read.
File integrity against WordPress.org Every core file compared daily with the checksum WordPress.org publishes for that site's own version and language, plus plugins from the directory, with every finding named by path. Not stated on their site
Vulnerability checks Every hour, every plugin and theme on every connected site is compared with the published vulnerability records, and an affected plugin is marked on the site with the version that fixes it. A site whose plugin list could not be read says so rather than reading clean. Vulnerability records are sourced from Wordfence Intelligence and MITRE. A Vulnerability Checker extension in the Essential tier, plus integrations with Patchstack, Wordfence, Jetpack Protect and Jetpack Scan.
Backups A full archive of each site every day, copied to your own Google Drive, one folder per site, the last fourteen kept; ReDock stores none of it. Plus a snapshot of a plugin before every update, with a one-press restore. Yes, through extensions that connect existing backup plugins: Solid Backups, Time Capsule, UpdraftPlus, BackWPup and WPvivid. The backup engine is somebody else's and lives on each site.
An activity log, and how long it is kept Every call with the site, the tool, who asked, the level it ran at and how it ended, refusals included. Kept 400 days, filterable six ways, exported as CSV or JSON. Through the third-party WP Activity Log extension rather than in the dashboard itself. No retention period is stated on the pages read.
Roles Owner, Admin, Member and Viewer per workspace, plus client groups that file sites under the customer. A viewer opens every site and every record and presses nothing. A Team Control extension in the Pro tier. Because the dashboard is a WordPress site, WordPress's own users and roles are underneath it.
Single sign-on OpenID Connect per workspace, for an email domain the owner proves with a DNS record. Google Workspace, Microsoft Entra, Okta or any OIDC provider. Not stated on their site
An API Scoped API tokens for a workspace or a single site, through the same door, the same policy and the same records as an app that signed in. Yes. A REST API, named on the free feature list and used for quick site connections.
An AI door for AI apps A hosted MCP server at app.redock.xyz/mcp for Claude, Claude Code, Cursor or any MCP client, with OAuth consent, four levels, a per-site address, and revocation that bites on the next call. Yes, and they are the only rival on this list with one. "The MainWP MCP Server lets AI assistants like Claude and Codex manage all your WordPress sites," and it will "Connect Claude, Codex, Cursor, or any MCP-compatible assistant to your MainWP Dashboard." It is open source, published under MainWP Labs, and runs alongside your AI tool rather than being hosted.
AI policy controls Seven switches per workspace, tightenable per site. Off means the call is refused at the door and the app is told to ask a person, with the refusal on the activity page. Not stated on their site
A client's own sign-in Not live. A client gets a viewer seat in your workspace, or the monthly document with no account at all. Their own sign-in is being built. Not stated on their site
Self-hosted or hosted Hosted, at app.redock.xyz. There is no self-hosted option. Self-hosted, and it is the point: "Install MainWP on your own WordPress site not ours. Gain full ownership of your data, workflows, and hosting environment for complete independence."
Free tier One connected site and one seat, free forever with no card, carrying the whole of ReDock Web and the whole desktop app. Yes, and it is unusually broad: a free Essentials tier with all free add-ons and "Manage Unlimited Sites."
Starting price Light is $8 a month for 3 sites and 1 seat. Pro is $19 for 10 sites and 5 seats. Studio is $49 for 25 sites and 25 seats. Billed monthly, with extra sites past a plan's count at $1 each a month. "We don't charge like a SaaS because we aren't one." MainWP Pro is $29 a month, $199 a year or $599 once, each for unlimited sites.

What they have that we do not

  • A self-hosted option, which is the whole shape of their product. ReDock Web is hosted only, at app.redock.xyz.
  • Unlimited sites at a flat price, and a lifetime licence. ReDock Web counts sites and bills monthly.
  • Backups through extensions that wrap Solid Backups, Time Capsule, UpdraftPlus, BackWPup or WPvivid, with the schedules and storage of those tools. ReDock Web makes one full archive a day into your own Google Drive, kept fourteen days.
  • A staging extension for testing updates before they go live.
  • A longer track record, and by their own count more than 700,000 sites under management. ReDock Web is new.

What we have that they do not

  • A hosted MCP door with an OAuth consent screen that names the workspace and lists every site the app would reach, four access levels, and revocation that bites on the next call. Theirs is a local bridge to your dashboard, which is a different security shape.
  • Seven AI policy switches per workspace, tightenable per site, enforced at the door with every refusal recorded. Nothing equivalent is described on their pages.
  • A snapshot of a plugin taken as a step of every update, with the rule that no snapshot means no update.
  • Safe updates that fetch pages from outside before and after and put the site back on a server error.
  • A health state made of reasons in sentences rather than separate check results.
  • Daily file integrity against the checksums WordPress.org publishes, named finding by finding.
  • One product where every plan carries the same set of things, rather than a capability map that depends on which extensions an install has.
  • Single sign-on through OpenID Connect for a domain proved by a DNS record, and an activity log kept 400 days in the product itself.
What MainWP costs

Their pricing page says "We don't charge like a SaaS because we aren't one": a free Essentials tier manages unlimited sites, and MainWP Pro is $29 a month, $199 a year or $599 once, all for unlimited sites, with extensions bundled by tier.

Read on 11 September 2026 at https://mainwp.com/pricing/
Fair questions

Can I import my sites from MainWP?

No. There is no importer. Each site is connected by installing the ReDock Connect plugin and entering a code, and a list of up to 100 can be onboarded in one batch with a code per site.

MainWP has an MCP server too. What is different?

Where the rules live. Theirs is an open-source bridge that runs alongside your AI tool and talks to your dashboard with credentials you hold. ReDock Web's door is hosted, so the consent screen, the four levels, the seven policy switches and the refusal record are on the server side, and an app that is told no never reaches the site.

MainWP is self-hosted. Is ReDock Web?

No. ReDock Web is hosted at app.redock.xyz and there is no self-hosted option. If owning the box is the requirement, MainWP is built for that and we are not. The free ReDock desktop app does run entirely on your own machine, but it runs local sites rather than managing live ones.

Judge it on one site.

One connected site is free forever, with no card, and it carries the whole of ReDock Web. Connect a site you already run and see whether the parts this page says we do well are the parts you needed.

Free for one site · the desktop app is free on every plan